Central Shenandoah Planning District Commission

Regular Meetings
  • 7 p.m.
  • Third Monday of the month, First Wednesday of February, First Monday of December
  • 112 MacTanly
    Staunton, VA
  • Jeff Freeman, Council Representative
    Term expires June 30, 2017
About the Commission
The Central Shenandoah Planning District Commission (CSPDC) was created pursuant to the Virginia Area Development Act.  By law, it is considered to be a subdivision of local government.  It provides regional and sub-regional planning and technical support services to its ten members, five cities and five counties, eleven towns and many public agencies within its boundary.  Its vision is to be a recognized and respected leader in regional and local planning issues by providing support to the local governments of the Central Shenandoah Valley Region.  Its mission is to help communities and agencies work together by providing high quality planning technical assistance and facilitation services that addresses local, regional and state needs in an innovative, timely and cooperative manner.
CSPDC's member localities are the cities of Buena Vista, Harrisonburg, Lexington, Staunton and Waynesboro and the counties of Augusta, Bath, Highland, Rockbridge and Rockingham.  

The members serve two-year terms for the Executive Committee and three-year terms for the full committee, with no limits on re-appointments.