Youth Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 5:30 p.m.
  • Third Wednesday every other month
  • United Way Building, 29 Idlewood Blvd, Fishersville


  • Vacancy, Youth Member                 
  • Jeff Fife, Waynesboro Representative                                      Term expires August 31, 2024
  • Debra Freeman-Belle                                                                   Term expires August 31, 2025

  • Kristi Williams, Waynesboro Representative                          Term expires August 31, 2024
  • Sharon Fitz
      Term expires August 31, 2026                                                           

About the Commission

The Regional Youth Commission is comprised of 15 members, 5 representing each locality.  One representative from each locality is a youth.  This commission provides citizen input to the Director and staff of the Office on Youth concerning issues such as youth programming, funding, and community trends. The Commissioners serve as youth advocates and ambassadors for the OOY, and are dedicated to ensuring the provision of comprehensive youth development services in our region.  This Commission meets bi-monthly and acts in an advisory capacity to the Office on Youth,   The commission recommends general policies involving programming for youth and families; foster involvement of youth in their community, and evaluates and seek solutions to problems, activities and concerns. 

Meetings:  Third Wednesday, every other month at 5:30. – United Way Office, 29 Idlewood Blvd, Fishersville.

The members serve appointed three-year terms, with a limit of two consecutive terms.

Shenandoah Valley Regional Office on Youth:

Rosenwald Community Center

413 Port Republic Road

Waynesboro, VA 22980

Phone: 540-942-6757

Fax: 540-942-6785

Ginny Newman, Executive Director